He Knows What an Ascot Is

Arlo Weiner is eight years old.  When I was eight, I had a halo of frizz around my face that resembled a lion’s mane, a pair of leggings for every day of the week, and slouch socks that made my ankles look obese.  And while I might have thought I was cooler than my parents, I wasn’t.  And my dad isn’t even Matt Weiner, the creator of Mad Men.  But this kid is STILL cooler than his parents.  Apparently he’s been wearing top hats since he was three and now a fez is his chapeau of choice (although he does throw on the occasional bowler or fedora depending on his mood).  He “love[s] Frank Sinatra,” listens to Black Sabbath and Bob Dylan, and jeans and sneakers are “really not [his] thing”.  Even Beck was so taken aback by his style that he followed after him down the street.  Yes, Beck.

Yeah, it’s cute, but it kind of reminds me of those new Windows ads with the little kids creating photo galleries and slide shows that are supposed to point out how easy it is to use a PC.  All I keep thinking though is that my parents’ generation is sitting there watching those commercials thinking “Fuck you PC.  I’m 60 and I can barely copy and paste.” At least that’s most of the 60-year-olds I know.

So when did kids become the new grown-ups?  I just wonder if Arlo’s parents are jealous of his keen ability to mix patterns and rock a red velvet suit.  I am.

[via GQ]

2 responses to “He Knows What an Ascot Is

  1. Hi this blog is great I will be recommending it to friends.

  2. This blog’s great!! Thanks :).

Leave a Reply

